Owen M. Panner Professionalism Award

The Oregon State Bar Litigation Section is proud to present the annual Owen M. Panner Professionalism Award at its annual retreat in March of each year. The award is named after an esteemed member of the federal bench, and honors a member of the bench or bar who exemplifies the highest personal and professional standards.

Past recipients are:

Year Recipient
2019 Hon. Anna Brown, Portland
2018 Robert Shlachter, Portland
2017 Joe Richards, Eugene
2016 Hon. Michael J. McShane, Eugene
2015 Jim Gidley, Portland
2014 Hon. Mark D. Clarke, Medford
2013 William A. Barton, Newport
2012 Judge Lynn R. Nakamoto, Portland
2011 William B. Crow, Portland
2010 Nancie Potter, Portland
2009 Thomas E. Cooney, Lake Oswego
2008 Carl Burnham, Jr., Ontario
2007 James L. Sutherland, Eugene
2006 Arthur C. Johnson, Eugene
2005 Donald B. Bowerman, Oregon City
2004 Mic Alexander, Salem
2003 Fred Hartstrom, Eugene
2002 Tom Tongue, Portland
2001 Judy Snyder, Portland
2000 Gene Hallman, Pendleton
1999 Don McEwen , Portland
1998 Hon. Owen M. Panner, Portland

The Section welcomes nominees of diverse backgrounds, practice areas, gender, and geographic location. Nominations close on August 1 for the following year's award, but they are accepted year-round. Late nominations and nominees who are not selected to receive the award will be carried over to the next year's candidate list.

To nominate a candidate for the Owen M. Panner Professionalism Award, please send a confidential letter to:

Kate Anne Wilkinson
Standard Insurance Company
900 SW 5th Avenue
Post Office Box 711
Portland, Oregon 97207

Be sure to include a short statement of the reasons for your nomination, and at least two further references for the nominee. You will be contacted for more detailed information if your nominee becomes a finalist for the award.

Screening and Selection Criteria for Owen M. Panner Professionalism Award

  • The award recipient should exemplify (not simply meet) the standards defined in the Oregon State Bar Statement of Professionalism.

  • The award is intended to recognize and honor personal and professional qualities, reputation, and conduct. Leadership activities and service with the bar or the community in general, while probative of professionalism, should not be considered key in the screening and selection process.

  • Pro bono service should be considered in the screening process.

  • The award recipient should be a role model for other attorneys, particularly younger attorneys.

  • Because the recipient should serve as a role model, an appreciation of diversity in the screening and selection process is essential. In particular, the award should recognize the increasingly important contributions of lawyers who are women, minorities, engaged in public/government practice, and solo and small firm practitioners.


Oregon State Bar Litigation Section
Copyright © 2007-2019, All rights reserved
Web page design and hosting by Appaloosa